Club report – Sunday 5th April 2019

Sorry that the report production was longer than expected this week. Seems to be a bit of a theme…..

Firstly, taking on the parkruns this week were:
Valley parkrun:
Ramunas Stanevicius 19:33PB, Tom Fleming 22:45, Paul Skillen 24:26, Brendan McGeown 25:59, Alan Erwin 26:01, Anita Piatek 28:02PB, Lee-Anne Hutchinson 29:35, Karen O’Boyle 31:46, Roseann McGeown 32:02, Loraine Forsythe 1:17:03

Waterworks parkrun:
Neil McCready 21:01, Jim Hewitt 24:31, Ryan McCready 26:55PB, Hollie Brennan 43:42, Lord Ian Brennan 43:44, Suzanne Brennan 43:44

Victoria parkrun:
Eamonn Donaghy 26:57

Antrim parkrun:
Elaine Kennedy 30:11, Susan Thompson 30:11, Ken “ice cream with a flake” McAuley 30:13

But the running week was really focused on the Belfast Marathon.

33 Harriers took on the new (very new in some places) course. However, despite the very public issues with course length and timings, it was still a great day out for the Harriers. Some amazing runs and some very brave runs. Just remember that effort and courage are not always reflected in the times. Every runner has their own story.

The times below are those as per Belfast Live website at 11am Monday morning. They may have changed. I have also marked any PBs and first timers I know about but apologies if yours is not noted.

Laura Campbell 4:58:27PB
Leeanne Skillen 4:58:27
Joanne Milne – 5:05:20
Sharon Dunn 4:04:32
Louise Ladd 5:08:34 first timer
Lisa Kerr 5:09:45 first timer
Gemma Fowler 4:35:03 first timer
Clare Teer 4:35:03 first timer
Pamela McCafferty 4:25:20 first timer
Sarah McCafferty – unfortunately unable to finish due to injury
Tiffany Donaldson 5:19:52
Karen McKee 3:50:09
Susan Thompson 3:44:30
Maeve Kennedy – 4:49:03
Nikki Fleck 4:59:57
Peter McGarry 2:40:30PB
Neil Campbell 3:00:20
Lee O’Boyle 2:43:36PB
Joe Mathers 3:29:52
Micky McAuley 3:32:27
Lord Ian Brennan 4:32:38
Micky McAuley 3:32:27
Stephen Gallagher 3:09:50PB
Martin O’Neill 3:02:39PB
Jim Guinn 4:14:01
Neill McGlinchey 5:42:05PB
Danny Donaldson 4:04:32
Christiaan Spies – 4:04:33
Ken McAuley 3:36:58PB
Stephen Semple 4:23:11
Paddy Brooks 4:05:16
Brian McDonald 4:25:20
Craig Mills 6:08:54
Michael McFarlane 5:05:21

Big congratulations to Peter McGarry who came in 27th position overall and set a new club record in the process.

Also a big shout out to Ian, Suzanne and all those involved in the organisation of yesterday’s events. Putting up the gazebos, stocking the bar, tea, coffee and biccies, organising the bus, carrying the gear, supporting around the course, taking the photos, updating runners progress, shouting and clapping, taking down the gazebos, organising the BBQ, drinking all the beer, etc, etc

Onwards and upwards for the runners and the club. Here’s to next year!
Until then, a tune for sore feet and sore heads. Enjoy. Well deserved.

Until next week, behave.