Club Race Report – 2 January 2023

Apologies for the lack of reports over Xmas. Being the elite athlete that I am, (stop sniggering at the back) I was away at a high altitude training camp over the holidays. Bet the Hill Tavern’s never been called that before.

So quite a few parkruns to catch up on:

Christmas Eve

Valley parkrun:

Tom Fleming 17:00 and first finisher, David Graham 19:37 and second finisher, Marty O’Neill 19:56, Leo McAuley 22:59PB, Eloise McAuley 24:06 and first female finisher, Alan Stewart 25:17, Sharon Dunn 26:29, Aidy Hughes 27:16, Marie McBrien 28:16, Coach Sinead O’Hare 28:38, Neill McGlinchey 29:32, Jasper Brooks 33:05, Roisin Brooks 33:09, Anton Piatek 43:23, Anita Piatek 49:01, Martin McCready 51:54, ADav 1:00:51

Waterworks parkrun:

Sean Doherty 22:42, Kevin Donnelly 24:40, Suzanne Brennan the Younger 25:18

Antrim parkrun:

Maeve Kennedy 24:11, Stephen Semple 25:28, Elaine Kennedy 32:07, Stephen Murphy 33:32

Larne parkrun:

Alan Kerr 25:55

Limavady parkrun:

Johnny Carey 23:32

Stretford parkrun:

Owen Fulton 32:07

Sixmilewater parkrun:

Rory Mason 26:54

Knockbracken Reservoir parkrun:

And obviously Dermot Boyd 31:57

Hillsborough Forest parkrun:

Elijah Cushley 25:31

Christmas Day

Valley parkrun:

Stevo Armour 20:31 and third finisher, Craig Goodall 23:50, Ben Davidson 24:47, Sharon Dunn 28:45, Marie McBrien 28:56, Neill McGlinchey 29:06, Bernard McKeaveney 29:40PB, Coach Sinead O’Hare 29:45, Emily Murphy 29:46, Calum Murphy 30:15, Stephen Murphy 30:16, Clare Gallagher 40:12PB, Martin McCready 57:31, ADav 57:55, Joanne Milne 57:56, Carrie Murphy 58:27

Waterworks parkrun:

Robbie ROTM Gould 19:50, Rab Gould 21:34, Neil McCready 21:53, Joe Mathers 25:12, Kevin Donnelly 25:23, Maeve Kennedy 26:51, Stephen Semple 26:53, Lord Ian Brennan 27:06, Leo McAuley 28:32, Eloise McAuley 28:35

Derry City parkrun:

David Graham 18:46, Johnny Carey 22:45PB

Wallace Park parkrun:

Elaine Kennedy 31:43

New Year’s Eve

Valley parkrun:

Tom Fleming 17:06 and first finisher, Aidy Hughes 27:18, Marie McBrien 27:37, Coach Sinead O’Hare 28:17, Cathy Ryan 28:44, Ciaran Hawkins 30:11, Roisin Brooks 31:10, Clare Gallagher 38:45PB, Martin McCready 58:30

Waterworks parkrun:

Robbie ROTM Gould 21:14, Rab Gould 23:02, Suzanne Brennan the Elder 28:45, ADav 28:45, Anita Piatek 45:23, Anton Piatek 50:49

Portrush parkrun:

Rory Mason 26:54

Ormeau parkrun:

And Obviously Dermot Boyd 32:19PB

Antrim parkrun:

Stephen Semple 24:48, Maeve Kennedy 25:03

Carrickfergus parkrun:

Alan Kerr 25:31

Limavady parkrun:

Johnny Carey 28:12

Stormont parkrun:

Stephen Murphy 26:46, Emily Murphy 27:09

Colin Glen parkrun:

Ciaran Wright 23:56

New Year’s Day

Valley parkrun:

Alan Stewart 24:40, Neill McGlinchey 28:52, Martin McCready 48:17, Calla Crossan 55:49, Terri Ganley 55:51, Clare Gallagher 55:52, ADav 57:24, Joanne Milne 57:25

Waterworks parkrun:

Lord Ian Brennan 24:35, Cathy Ryan 27:08

And congratulations to Cathy Ryan who started off 2023 with her 200th parkrun.

Derry City parkrun:

David Graham 19:13 and third finisher

Antrim parkrun:

Maeve Kennedy 24:26, Stephen Semple 24:54, Elaine Kennedy 29:22, Nikki Fleck 33:32

Jordanstown junior parkrun (New Year’s Day):

Coach Sinead O’Hare 9:29 and second finisher, Andrea Bradley 13:59, Matthew Hawkins 14:11

And the award for full attendance at all 4 parkruns over the holiday season goes to Martin McCready, ADav, Maeve Kennedy and Stephen Semple.

But there was plenty of other racing over the holidays to help burn off those Xmas calories.

On Boxing Day, we had 2 representatives at the Greencastle Oliver McCullough 5 mile race:

David Graham 31:27, Ciaran Wright 36:42

On the same day, 2 other Harriers were at Brocagh Bay:


Aidy Hughes 25:34


Kevin Donnelly 38:11 and 6th overall

There were several masochistic Harriers at the annual Newcastle AC Castlewellan Christmas Cracker pairs event. Even the Brennans!

Aaron Stevenson +1, 1:20:08, Andrew Nevison +1 1:13:15, Gareth McLoughlin & Stephen Gallagher 1:35:17, Anton Piatek +1 1:39:29, Lord & Lady Brennan 1:43:12, Bernard McKeaveney +1 1:50:13

Elaine Kennedy took part in the EAMS B2B 10k event on 30th and 31st with times of 1:03:37 and 1:02:24.

On NYE, David Graham finished off the year in style completing the Lough 5 miler in 31:10.

But no better way to shake off the hangover and start the new year than with the traditional Ballymena Runners Race over the Glens. Obviously, I was nowhere near this nonsense but several Harriers were:

Lee O’Boyle 44:25 and 9th place overall, Aaron Stevenson 55:36, Stephen Gallagher 56:16, Ciaran Wright 1:02:21, Anton Piatek 1:02:46, Alan Kerr 1:09:30, Bernard McKeaveney 1:13:06

And breathe…

So that’s 2022 finished and 2023 already started.

Training starts back on Tuesday 3rd and don’t forget to sign up for our own XC event on Sunday Jan 15th (you can run or volunteer but its even better to do both!)

I still don’t like any of you but just to help ease in the new year I am starting a new segment for 2023. It’s called the Alan Erwin Quiz. Each week there will be a general knowledge question and the answer will be given in the following report. There are absolutely no prizes as I am not paid for this rubbish.

So this week’s question – Which Harrier shares their birthday with some other people?

The answer to this very first ever Alan Erwin Quiz question will be published next week. Bet you can’t wait. And please don’t post the answer on Facebook (Aidy).

So, this week’s tune is for me and everyone who feels like me after those Xmas celebrations.

But it’s a new year and new opportunity.

2023 – we got this.

Until next week, behave.