Club Run Report – Sunday 8th August 2021

Well, that was a week for the waterproofs, although Barra has promised us another heatwave, so there might still be a chance to top up that tan.

Taking on the parkruns this week were:

Waterworks Parkrun:
Kevin Donnelly 21:45
Dawn Blain 24:51

Portrush parkrun:
Janet Grew 30:52

Antrim Parkrun:
Elaine Kennedy 32:40.

Congratulations to Elaine on completing her 200th parkrun.

Crawfordsburn Country parkrun
Anton Piatek 25:29

Valley parkrun:
Tom Fleming 19:04 Stevo Armour 21:28, Ben Davidson 24:43, David Esler 26:22, Ciaran Hawkins 26:39, Jay Scott 26:47, Sharon Dunn 26:49, Clare Teer 27:03, Paul Skillen 27:05, Meave Dunseath 27:14, Karen McKee 27:17, Bernie McAllister 27:44, Marie McBrien 30:21, Joanne Milne 30:54, Neill McGlinchey 31:04.

And the Rt. Hon ADav was back on home turf with another course PB 18:59 and finishing 3rd. Do we think he’s holding back slightly to ensure PBs each week?

Jordanstown Junior parkrun:,
Tom Fleming 07:14 (and 1st finisher again), Peter Fleming 08:18 (and 2nd finisher again), Matthew Hawkins 12:40

Waterworks Junior parkrun:
Leo McAuley 08:57, Eloise McAuley 09:16PB, Kayden McClelland 09:25PB, Kobe McClelland 09:54PB, Aaron Ladd 12:03

Taking on the Broughshane 10k was Mark Smith, who finished 4th with a time of 37:43. Well done Mark.

This week saw the return of the annual Mallusk 5 Mile road race after a years absence, it may have been slightly smaller than previous years, but that didn’t dampen any spirits. A little over 150 keen runners braved the weather (thankfully Barra was wrong and the rain held off for the actual race). As the runners were primed to start and the countdown had started, the Rt. Hon ADav took to the stand to take over the countdown and send the runners on their merry way up the dreaded Sealstown “mound of opportunity”.

The men’s race was closely fought between Jimmy Sloan, Gordy Graham and Brendan McMinn and the three kept up this close race to the very end, with Jimmy Sloan of Newry AC taking first place in 27:20, closely followed by Gordy Graham of East Down AC in 27:36 and Brandon McMinn of North Belfast Harriers in 27:56.

The ladies race was won by Gillian McCrory of St Peters AC who finished in 31:12 (Gillian placed 2nd in the previous Mallusk 5mile race), closely followed by Sarah Lavery of Beechmount Harriers who took 2nd place in 31:46 and Martsje Hell of North Belfast Harriers took 3nd place in 32:20.

For Mallusk Harriers, Prof A. Ladd was the 1st one home in a fantastic time of 29:47, 2nd was Mark Smith with a time of 30:41 and 3rd was young Ben Davidson with a time of 32:32, and John Woodlock coming in at 39:01.

Great effort by all the runners and a fantastic event organised by the race committee and of course the volunteers, without which the race couldn’t go ahead.

Until next week