Club Race Report – 16th January 2022

Only really one event to dominate this week’s report. No, not the “work event” the committee members had that time. Yes, it’s all about the sun dappled fields of Mallusk this week. But more of that later.

Taking on the parkruns this week were:

Valley parkrun:
Ramunas Stanevicius 22:10, Karen McKee 26:05, ADav 26:07, David Esler 26:24, Paul Skillen 26:25, Neill McGlinchey 32:41, John Teer 38:33

Waterworks parkrun:
Kevin Donnelly 20:57, Lord Ian Brennan 24:31, Anton Piatek 27:08, Claire McCann 32:14

Victoria parkrun:
Martin O’Neill 18:15PB, Neil McCready 21:07, Dermot Boyd 31:40

Antrim parkrun:
Stephen Armour 20:29PB, Elijah Cushley 22:10PB, Sarah Ross 23:52, Sharon Dunn 25:36PB, Elaine Kennedy 29:32

Sixmilewater parkrun:
Bernie McAllister 27:18PB

Hillsborough Forest parkrun:
Martin McCready 36:02

Jordanstown junior parkrun:
Joseph Eager 8:54, Matthew Halliday 11:15, Ben Halliday 11:48

Waterworks junior parkrun:
Jessie Smith 14:17

So down to business and to our own wee event. This “wee” event has grown to be one of the top events on the XC calendar and is definitely now one of the first bookings of the year in many runners’ diaries. Things have obviously been far from normal in recent years and so we had no idea of the level of interest we would get this year. Turns out we had record attendances.

Whilst it was great to see the usual high calibre of athletes in the main senior races, it was just as satisfying to see over 90 primary school kids throw themselves at that first hill in the first junior race of the day.

Whilst the majority of Harriers were taking on organising and stewarding duties, several still doubled up and got the spikes on as well as the thermals:
Primary School 800m race
Joe Eager 1:57
Jack O’Neill 2:02

Eloise McAuley 1:59 (and 4th place)
Erin McNevison 2:23
Hollie Brennan 3:05

U12 2km race
Leo Mc Auley 8:12
Jack O’Neill 8:48
Sinead O’Hare 10:00

U14 3km race
Emily Murphy 14:42
Leah McNevison 15:57

Mathieson Shield 6km Ladies and Vets Race
Suzanne Brennan 30:26, Sarah Ross 31:45, Sarah O’Kane 33:02, Pamela McCafferty 33:03

Mathieson Cup 8km Men’s Race
Lee O’Boyle 29:26, Kevin Donnelly 33:34, Micky McAuley 34:29, Alan Erwin 35:01, Stephen Armour 35:34, Stephen Gallagher 35:48, Johnny Carey 40:15, Aidy Hughes 47:11

So, here’s a tune for Paul, Leeanne and all the organisers and volunteers for making today such a big success. And for all the visitors who entered our wee event and took part today.
Until next week, behave.